Welcome Devin Mounts, school farm apprentice!

Devin bio photo3_2795From my perch in the apple tree I watched the workings of the garden.  The birds playing in the bath and the bees buzzing from one flower to the next kept my senses bouncing.  As a young boy in this backyard plot, my Grandpa excited my curiosity as I tip-toed through the lettuce on a mission to capture slugs and slipped my hand into the pail of fresh-picked raspberries still swinging from his hip.  The garden’s magic was in it’s life.  The textures and colors squished in between my toes and grew high above my head.

As I became an adult, the memories of freedom in the garden were what brought me back to the soil. The more I learned of the complexities and politics of the food system the more my head began to spin, and my feelings became tangled in a food-web too confused to see the difference between food and fuel. As I weeded parking lots and mowed lawns during one summer, I daydreamt of tearing up the concrete and grass and growing food. I kept wondering “Why am I so disconnected from food?”

After I planted my first potato and harvested the fruits after neglecting it all summer, I was hooked. It seemed too easy to be true. And, it was. I discovered that as with all great things that seem simple, there exists an endless depth of detail that goes unnoticed for whom does not know where to look. So, I do not know much about caring for the soil and growing food, however I am convinced that food must return to the community. IMG_2912By growing what feeds us and saving the seeds of knowledge, we come together as neighbors around issues that divide people from one another and one another from our earth. I have come here to Whidbey looking for help in order to learn the finer details that will help grow food for thought, and cultivate the magic that I once found as a young boy high in the branches of the apple tree.

~~~ Devin Mounts

Devin shares his apprenticeship time between the School Farm program, and the Good Cheer Garden.

This entry was posted in Updates from the garden!. Bookmark the permalink.